How to Cope With Problems


I Have a Dream, or Something
February 18, 2012, 4:11 am
Filed under: Public Speaking

I have a dream, okay, that one day this nation will, like, rise up, you know, or something, and live out the true meaning of its creed, or whatever: “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal,” or something. Something like that.

Maybe it’s stupid, but I have a dream that one day on the red hills of Georgia, or somewhere around there, the sons of former slaves, and possibly the sons of former slave owners, will, I guess, be able to sit down together at the table of brotherhood, or, like, maybe something along those lines.

I kind of have something like a dream; let’s say, for the sake of argument, that it is, in fact a dream, even though, really, it’s more, like, just an idea that I thought of, and, you know, I just wanted to run it by you guys and see what you thought, and if you don’t like it, well, that’s okay, but I personally think it’s a really good idea. I mean I really think I’m on to something here. All I’m saying is just, hear me out here, you know? Anyway, sorry– I’m rambling. What was I saying? Oh yeah, ok, well, this thing, this “dream,” or what have you, was that one day even the state of Mississippi, a state sweltering with the heat of injustice, sweltering with the heat of oppression, will be transformed into an oasis of freedom and justice. And stuff.

I, ah, also have a dream that my four little children, I am hoping, will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character or whatever.

I have a dream today!

I have a dream that one day, down in Alabama, with its vicious racists, with its governor having his lips dripping with the words of “interposition” and “nullification” — but just to be clear I am not referring to everybody in Alabama, I know that there are many non-racists in Alabama, I’m just referring to the few bad eggs that spoil it for everyone else — one day right there in Alabama little black boys and/or black girls will be able to join hands, maybe, with little white boys and/or white girls as sisters and/or brothers if they want, no pressure.

I have a dream today!

I have a dream, or something, that one day every valley shall be exalted (or as many as possible at least) and every hill and mountain shall be made low (again, within the bounds of what can realistically be expected), the rough places will be made mostly plain, I guess, and, along with that, also, the crooked places will be made all straight (you know?) “and the glory of the Lord shall be revealed and all flesh shall see it together.” Or not. You don’t have to say yes right away. Take your time; sleep on it. When you’re ready, I’ll be waiting by the phone.

Anyway, think about it.

-Martin

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

